programming update 08102016

If you’ve been following this blog, you know that I have been following Chaos and Pain’s approach to training, which is heavy lifts (several sets of singles, doubles, and triples beyond 85% of your 1RM) 3 times a week. Generally, this has been working well because I’m adding weight to the bar each day. However, I’m starting to run into problems:

  • My workouts are starting to take a lot longer now that I am moving more weight. Between time loading bars, more warm up sets, needing a little more rest between sets so I can execute the lift, etc, my workouts are starting to take a long time
  • I am feeling some imbalances show up already. I am feeling my shoulders starting to roll forward. One of the problems with 1 squat, 1 press, 1 pull is that you have to pick between a thickness (dead and variations), vertical (lat PD and pullups) and a row, so given that I am a beginner I don’t think this is addressing my back well
  • Even though I am grinding each big lift to where I can’t lift much more, I feel like I have room in the tank for assistance work
  • I want to start working in a bit of hypertrophy work and work in higher rep ranges

So, I am going to run 5/3/1, which has worked well for me in the past. Since I am still a beginner, I will be a bit more aggressive with how frequently I train and how much I jump between cycles. The plan for now is:

Day 1 Day 2 Day 3 Day 4 Day 5
Press, 5/3/1 Deadlift, 5/3/1 Bench Press, 5/3/1 Back Squat, 5/3/1 Off
Press Variation, 5×10 Vertical Pull, 5×10 Incline Press Variation, 5×10 Front Squat, 5×10 Off
Shoulder Pull Variation, 3×12 Horizontal Pull, 5×10 Curls, 3×12 Leg Press, 5×10 Off
Tricep Isolation, 3×12 Straight Leg work, 3×8 Grip Abs Off

This will start today with my press workout.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

