upcoming assistance work

Since I am returning to the gym, I have been thinking a bit about how I am structuring my assistance work. I think I was overreaching on my assistance work and it was slowing down my main lifts.

Overall, my goal will be to moderate my assistance work in terms of intensity (i.e. percentage of my max used) while increasing volume a bit. I want to focus on doing the movements and not getting greedy on weights and I don’t want to push to failure.

This week, I had a lot of fun doing some new lifts and I wanted to incorporate those into training. I will structure each workout as:

  • 5/3/1 loaded big lift
  • 1 compound movement focusing on explosiveness or working the main lift in a different ROM
  • 1 compound movement focusing on higher reps
  • 3-4 movements to focus on assisting the big lift

Here’s the general plan:

Military Press Day:

  • Military Press, 5/3/1 loading
  • Jerk or Push Press, 3 sets (singles, doubles or triples)
  • Press Variation (BTN press, barbell press, seated press, DB press), 4 sets of 8 to 12 reps
  • Medial delt (upright row, lateral raise, etc), 4 sets of 8 to 12 reps
  • Rear delt (rear delt flye, face pulls, etc), 4 sets of 8 to 12 reps
  • 1 Preacher Curl variation, 4 sets of 8 to 12 reps
  • 1 free Curl variation, 4 sets of 8 to 12 reps

Deadlift Day:

  • Deadlift, 5/3/1 loading
  • Olympic Pull variation (high pull, cleans, etc), 3 sets (singles, doubles or triples)
  • Deadlift variation (snatch grip deadlifts, rack pulls, deficits, etc), 3 sets (singles, doubles or triples)
  • Vertical Pull, 4 sets of 8-12 reps
  • Horizontal Pull, 4 sets of 8-12 reps
  • Shrugs, 4 sets of 8-12 reps

Bench Press Day:

  • Bench Press, 5/3/1 loading
  • Incline Bench Press variation, 5×5
  • Bench Press variation, 4 sets of 8-12 reps
  • 2 Direct chest movements, 4 sets of 8-12 reps on each
  • 2 Direct triceps movements, 4 sets of 8-12 reps on each

Back Squat Day:

  • Back Squat, 5/3/1 loading
  • Squat variation (pause squats, front squats, zerchers), 3 sets (singles, doubles or triples)
  • Leg Press, 4 sets of 8-12 reps
  • Leg Curl, 4 sets of 8-12 reps
  • Leg Extensions, 4 sets of 8-12 reps
  • Calf Raises, 4 sets of 8-12 reps

 

Leave a Reply

